News

News

Overhead Project with "Blueprint" part of Open Studio at international tanzmesse 2024!

We will be presenting our current production "Blueprint" on 30 August 2024 as part of an open studio at internationale tanzmesse NRW 2024. In this extraordinary pas de deux, two performers navigate their way through patterns of human encounter and familiarity. The piece plays with gestures of invitation, confrontation and provocation. It is a duet in which contemporary circus and dance keep pace with each other.

  • 30.08.2024 at 2.15 & 4.15 pm at tanzhaus nrw | Studio 4

The Tanzmesse 2024 presents 27 Open Studio presentations. Three companies will each present an excerpt from a work-in-progress or touring production. After the short presentation, there will be time for questions and dialogue with the artists. The Open Studios will be moderated. Read more

Cologne Culture Prize 2024 for CircusDanceFestival

We look back on a great evening: on 14 May, 2024 the Cologne Culture Awards were presented for the 14th time. This year - just two days before the festival opening - the CircusDanceFestival was honoured in the "Young Initiatives" category. Tim Behren, Artistic Director of the Overhead Project company and the CircusDanceFestival, accepted the award on stage on behalf of the team.

The award recognises outstanding achievements and pioneering developments in culture in Cologne. With the Culture Prize, the Cologne Cultural Council aims to emphasise the high quality of culture in the cathedral city and provide impetus for its development. The documentation of the award ceremony can be found here (in German).

"Blueprint" at CircusDanceFestival 2024

With our latest production "Blueprint" we attended the Cologne CircusDanceFestival in May 2024. We would like to thank a wonderful, international audience for three sold-out performances and a great festival atmosphere!

Thursday, May 16th, 2024 at 8 pm
Friday, May 17th, 2024 at 8 pm
Saturday, May 18th, 2024 at 8 pm

Location: Performance tent on the festival grounds – LATIBUL, An der Schanz 6, 50735 Cologne
Tickets via the Festivalwebsite

PREMIERE of "Blueprint" in March 2024 in Leipzig & Cologne

Thank you for two great premiere weekends of our latest production "Blueprint" in Leipzig and Cologne!

Th production plays with gestures of invitation, confrontation and provocation. In this extraordinary pas de deux, dancer Mijin Kim and acrobat Leon Börgens move through human patterns of encounter and intimacy. With humor and an unusual repertoire of movements, they traverse a playing field of trust in order to strike the right note with each other.

Read more about the production & all performance dates.

NRW top funding dance 2024-26 for Overhead Project

We are delighted that we as a company will continue to be supported by NRW's top-level funding program in the years 2024 to 2026 and that we were selected by the expert jury, consisting of the Ministry of Culture and four dance experts, from a total of 25 applications with the following jury statement (excerpt, in German):

"With its work at the intersection between contemporary circus and dance, Overhead Project takes an outstanding position nationwide. Through its productions, workshop formats and cultural policy positioning, the company has significantly and sustainably strengthened the role of contemporary circus and dance locally, nationally and internationally. The Circus Dance Festival, curated by Tim Behren, also makes a relevant contribution here, establishing an important platform for the visualization of current aesthetics and discourses in both disciplines.

Cologne Dance Theater Prize 2023 for "What is left"

THANK YOU to our team & the many partners that accompanied the production – we are very proud of the Tanztheaterpreis 2023 for "What is left", which we received on December 4th, and congratulate all nominees & award winners!

"... this carrying, throwing, falling and being caught points to the fact that social interaction is not possible without trust and mutual care. A great production, congratulations from the jury." – excerpt from the laudation of this year's jury (Thomas Linden, Dr. Ruth Prangen & Jenny Patschovsky)

Sold-out Cologne premiere of "Greenroom" at Zeit für Zirkus 2023!

We celebrated the Cologne premiere of “Greenroom” as part of Zeit für Zirkus – on two evenings in a sold-out tent! The decentralised festival for contemporary circus will take place this November 17-19, 2023. The German counterpart to the French La Nuit du Cirque aims to help contemporary circus gain more visibility in the cultural scene and beyond. To the Cologne ZfZ program

LATIBUL Circus – An der Schanz 6, 50735 Cologne

  • Friday, November 17th, 2023 | 8:30 pmTickets
  • Saturday, November 18th, 2023 | 8:30 pmTickets

UK Tour in March 2023

"I think it is safe to say the audiences were blown away. I myself found it to be a perfect blend of skill, accessible contemporary work, dance, acrobatics and humour." (Adrian Berry, Artistic Director Jacksons Lane)

In March 2023 we travel to the UK for the first time with the company and showed our production of "What is left" at the Lowry in Salford, Circomedia in Bristol and Jacksons Lane in London. We are still overwhelmed with the warm welcome and great feedback we got from the British audience – a big thank you to all who made the tour happening!

The production "What is left" explores spatial structures that shape human communication culture. It shows the brutal beauty of frontality and the everyday social fashionwalks of this world. Read more

Publication "Circus in flux" released

The CircusDanceFestival (deputy Tim Behren & Jenny Patschovsky) released a workbook under the title "Circus in flux - Zeitgenössischer Zirkus | Contemporary Circus"! It was published July 1st, 2022 by Verlag Theater der Zeit and can be ordered now.

Tabori Award of the Fonds Darstellende Künste for the Company

The jury decided: "This honors a unique signature of the merging of contemporary dance and contemporary circus, creating a performative language of its own that makes a special contribution to both establishing and communicating the formats and their differentiated thematic worlds." (translated excerpt from the jury statement)

Subscribe

* indicates required
Cookie Notice

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

Cookie Notice

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

Your cookie preferences have been saved.

News

News

Kölner Kulturpreis 2024 für CircusDanceFestival

Wir schauen zurück auf einen großartigen Abend: Am 14. Mai 2024 wurden zum 14. Mal die Kölner Kulturpreise verliehen. In der Kategorie „Junge Initiativen“ wurde dieses Jahr – nur zwei Tage vor Festivaleröffnung – das CircusDanceFestival ausgezeichnet. Tim Behren, Künstlerischer Leiter der Kompanie Overhead Project und des CircusDanceFestival, nahm den Preis stellvertretend auf der Bühne entgegen.

Die Auszeichnung würdigt herausragende Leistungen und wegweisende Entwicklungen der Kultur in Köln. Mit dem Kulturpreis möchte der Kölner Kulturrat die hohe Qualität der Kultur in der Domstadt herausstellen und Impulse für ihre Entwicklung geben. Die Dokumentation der Preisverleihung ist hier zu finden.

„Blueprint“ auf dem CircusDanceFestival 2024

Mit unsere neusten Produktion „Blueprint“ waren wir im Mai 2024 auf dem Kölner CircusDanceFestival zu Gast. Wir bedanken uns bei einem wunderbaren, internationalen Publikum für drei ausverkaufte Vorstellungen und großartige Festivalstimmung!

PREMIERE von „Blueprint“ im März 2024 in Leipzig & Köln

Wir bedanken uns für zwei großartige Premierenwochenenden unserer neuesten Produktion „Blueprint“ in Leipzig und Köln!

Die Produktion spielt mit Gesten der Einladung, Konfrontation und Provokation. In diesem außergewöhnlichen Pas de deux bewegen sich die Tänzerin Mijin Kim und der Akrobat Leon Börgens durch menschliche Muster von Begegnung und Intimität. Humorvoll und mit einem ungewöhnlichen Bewegungsrepertoire durch-queren sie ein Spielfeld des Vertrauens, um im Miteinander den richtigen Ton zu treffen.

Mehr über die Produktion & alle Termine hier.

NRW-Spitzenförderung Tanz 2024-26 für Overhead Project

Wir freuen uns, dass wir als Kompanie auch in den Jahren 2024 bis 2026 weiter durch die NRW-Spitzenförderung unterstützt und mit folgender Jurybegründung (Auszug) aus insgesamt 25 Bewerbungen von der Fachjury, bestehend aus dem Kulturministerium und vier Tanzexpert:innen, ausgewählt wurden:

„Overhead Project nimmt mit seiner Arbeit an der Schnittstelle zwischen zeitgenössischem Zirkus und Tanz eine bundesweit herausragende Stellung ein. Mit ihren Produktionen und Vermittlungsformaten sowie kulturpolitischen Positionierungen hat die Kompanie maßgeblich und nachhaltig die Position des zeitgenössischen Zirkus und den Tanz lokal, bundesweit und international gestärkt. Einen einschlägigen Beitrag leistet hier auch das von Tim Behren kuratierte Circus Dance Festival, das eine wichtige Plattform zur Sichtbarmachung aktueller Ästhetiken und Diskurse beider Sparten etabliert.

Kölner Tanztheaterpreis 2023 für „What is left“

DANKE an unser Team & die vielen Partner:innen, die die Produktion begleitet haben – wir sind sehr stolz auf den Tanztheaterpreis 2023 für „What is left“, den wir am 04. Dezember in Empfang nehmen durften, und gratulieren allen Nominierten & Preisträger:innen ganz herzlich!

„… dieses Tragen, Werfen, Fallen und Aufgefangen werden verweist darauf, dass ein soziales Miteinander ohne Vertrauen und gegenseitiger Fürsorge nicht möglich ist. Eine großartige Produktion, Gratulation der Jury.“ – Auszug aus der Laudatio der diesjährigen Jury (Thomas Linden, Dr. Ruth Prangen & Jenny Patschovsky)

Ausverkaufte Köln-Premiere von "Greenroom" bei Zeit für Zirkus 2023!

Im Rahmen von Zeit für Zirkus 2023 feierten wir die Köln-Premiere von „Greenroom“ – und das an zwei Abenden im ausverkauften Zelt! Das deutschlandweite Festival für Zeitgenössischen Zirkus findet in diesem vom 17. bis 19. November 2023 statt. Das deutsche Pendant zur internationalen La Nuit du Cirque zielt darauf ab, dem Zeitgenössischen Zirkus bundesweit zu mehr Sichtbarkeit in der Kulturszene und darüber hinaus zu verhelfen. Zum Kölner ZfZ-Programm

LATIBUL Zirkusgelände – An der Schanz 6, 50735 Köln

Erfolgreiche UK Tour im März 2023

"Ich denke, man kann mit Sicherheit sagen, dass das Publikum begeistert war. Ich selbst empfand es als eine perfekte Mischung aus Können, zugänglicher zeitgenössischer Arbeit, Tanz, Akrobatik und Humor." (Adrian Berry, Künstlerischer Leiter Jacksons Lane)

Im März 2023 reisen wir zum ersten Mal mit der Kompanie nach Großbritannien und zeigen unsere Produktion "What is left" im Lowry in Salford, Circomedia in Bristol und Jacksons Lane in London. Wir sind immer noch überwältigt von dem herzlichen Empfang und dem großartigen Feedback, das wir vom britischen Publikum bekommen haben – ein großes Dankeschön an alle, die die Tournee möglich gemacht haben!

Die Produktion "What is left" beschäftigt sich mit räumlichen Strukturen, die die menschliche Kommunikationskultur prägen. Sie zeigt die brutale Schönheit von Frontalität und der alltäglich sozialen Fashionwalks dieser Welt. Mehr dazu

Neue Produktion "Greenroom" feierte am 03. März 2023 Premiere

Unsere neusten Produktion „Greenroom“ ist am 03. & 04. März 2023 im Ringlokschuppen Ruhr erfolgreich zur Premiere gekommen!

In „Greenroom“ begeben sich vier Performer:innen in einen sich stetig wandelnden Raum zwischen Holzwerkstatt, physischem Experimentierfeld und Ausstellung. Es manifestiert sich ein Ort, an dem nichts so ist, wie man erwartet und nichts so bleibt, wie es war. Von und mit Breno Caetano, Tim Behren, Charlotte Ducousso, Simon Bauer. Mehr dazu

Out and Around – 5 Jahre EinTanzHaus Mannheim

Vor den Augen des Publikums entsteht ein Projekt: Auf dem Vorplatz des Mannheimer EinTanzHaus treffen vom 12. bis 17. September 20 Künstler:innen aus Mannheim und ganz Europa, aus Tanz, Zeitgenössischem Zirkus, Physical Theatre, Musik, Bildender Kunst und Architektur aufeinander. Mehrere Tage lang improvisieren, kreieren und forschen sie gemeinsam und öffentlich im Rahmen des Out and Around Outdoor Creation Summit. Begleitet wird dieser Prozess durch Overhead Project (Tim Behren & Breno Caetano).

Publikation "Circus in flux" erschienen

Das CircusDanceFestival (stellv. Tim Behren & Jenny Patschovsky) gibt das Arbeitsbuch unter dem Titel „Circus in flux – Zeitgenössischer Zirkus | Contemporary Circus“ heraus! Es ist am 1. Juli 2022 beim Verlag Theater der Zeit und kann ab jetzt bestellt werden.

Tabori Auszeichnung des Fonds Darstellende Künste für Kompanie

„Die Fachjury des Fonds Darstellende Künste vergibt die Tabori Auszeichnung 2022, dotiert mit 15.000 Euro, an Overhead Project. Damit wird eine einzigartige Handschrift der Fusion aus Zeitgenössischem Tanz und Zeitgenössischem Zirkus geehrt, mit der eine eigene performative Sprache entsteht, die sowohl für die Etablierung wie auch für die Vermittlung der Formate und ihrer differenzierten Themenwelten einen besonderen Beitrag leistet.“ – Auszug aus der Pressemitteilung vom 05. Mai 2022

Adaption von „What is left“ mit Studierenden bei IMPACTZONE 22

Im März 2022 kam eine Adaption des Stücks „What is left“ im Rahmen der diesjährigen IMPACTZONE in Köln auf die Bühne. Die Reihe zeigt Choreographien internationaler Künstler:innen, inszeniert und aufgeführt mit Studierenden des ZZT der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln (HfMT).

Unerwartet schwerelos: Overhead Project im Kulturkenner-Portrait

„Neuer Zirkus ist ein Genre zwischen Kunst und Unterhaltung, zwischen Aufbruch und Tradition, zwischen Körperlichkeit und zum Teil tagesaktuellen Themen“ – das sagt Tim Behren als künstlerischer Leiter von Overhead Project im Gespräch mit Kulturkenner NRW.

Subscribe

* indicates required
Cookie Notice

Zur Webseite gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website, für Komfort-Einstellungen oder für die Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte notwendig sind. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass je nach Ihren Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website verfügbar sind.

Cookie Notice

Zur Webseite gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website, für Komfort-Einstellungen oder für die Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte notwendig sind. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass je nach Ihren Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website verfügbar sind.

Cookies gespeichert.